Saturday, May 11, 2013

Updated Rhode Island Marijuana Penalties (as of April 1st, 2013)

As of April 1st, 2013, the State of Rhode Island significantly altered the penalties for marijuana possession.  The largest alteration involves the decriminilization of the possession of less than one ounce of marijuana.  The penalties for marijuana possession can be seen below:

First (and Second) Offense Simple Possession 
of Less than  One Ounce of Marijuana
- Civil Violation (not a criminal offense)
- Fine of $150 to $600

Third Offense (within 18 months) Simple Possession
of Less than One Ounce of Marijuana
- Criminal Offense (petty misdemeanor)
- Up to 30 days in Jail
- Fine of $200 to $500

Simple Possession of More than
One Ounce of Marijuana
- Criminal Offense (full misdemeanor)
- Up to One Year in Jail
- Fine of $200 to $500          

Attorney Matthew T. Marin is an experienced Rhode Island marijuana defense lawyer.  If you need assistance or are facing Rhode Island Marijuana Charge, contact Attorney Matthew T. Marin at 401-228-8271 or mm@matthewtmarin.com.

For more detailed information, visit our website at: http://www.matthewtmarin.com/
Post a Comment